Asia Cup: Bangladesh won the toss and batted against Afghanistan

Asia Cup: Bangladesh won the toss and batted against Afghanistan

Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan elected to bat first against Afghanistan at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, Pakistan.

Bangladesh have made three changes from the XI of the first match which was defeated against Sri Lanka in the group stage. Instead of Tanjid Hasan, Mahedi Hasan and Mustafizur Rahman, Afif Hossain, Shamim Hossain Patwari and Hasan Mahmud got a chance in the XI. Shamim is making his debut in this match. He is making his debut as Bangladesh’s 144th ODI player.

Shamim has the experience of playing 17 T20 matches in the international arena for the country. He scored 245 runs with 1 half-century in 13 innings. This left-handed batsman has 1093 runs in 48 matches in List ‘A’ cricket and 6 half-centuries. So far, Bangladesh and Afghanistan have met 14 times in the ODI format.

Among them, Bangladesh won 8 and Afghans won 6. Bangladesh lost by 5 wickets to Sri Lanka in the first match of the season.

Tigers have to win against Afghanistan to keep the hope of playing in Super Four alive. Shakib-Mushfiqur will leave the group stage if they lose this match. Bangladesh XI: Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Mohammad Naim, Mehdi Hasan Miraj, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Tawhid Hriday, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shamim Hossain Patwari, Afif Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud and Shariful Islam. Afghanistan XI: Hashmatullah Shahidi (captain), Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat, Rashid Khan, Fazlhaq Farooqui and Mujeeb ur Rahman.

মন্তব্যসমূহ (০)

Lost Password